Getting My Real Sword SVD Ready For Battle

I made a to-do list getting my SVD ready for action:

1. Replacing Tamiya connectors with Dean connectors
2. Covering all outer metal parts with special oil
3. Installing my PSO-1 scope
4. Installing my favorite Soviet oldskool sling
5. Purchasing another Real Sword magazine (to have three mags for my first game – god bless my speed loader 🙂 )

Number one on my list was pretty basic and no problem, so we don`t have to talk about it any more.

Number two is worth posting a few comparison shots. There are a bunchload of metal care taking products out there and because of several very good reviews, I chose to try out BRUNOX oil. I wanted to buy their special gun oil but it was sold out at all stores next to my HQ. At the end, I just bought their TURBO SPRAY that should do the same (especially with an AEG and no real gun).

SVD-Brunox

As far as my understanding goes, the metal parts should be covered with a layer of oil. After applying a nice, solid film, the oil dries and remains as a very thin coat. It is up to the user to do this in several runs, but I decided to perform only one. First, I tried this with one magazine to check out the procedure: (left: – fresh applied oil; right: new mag out of the box)

SVD-Oiled-Mag

I waited some hours and I was pretty excited to get things going, so I went on with the SVD. 🙂

The following pictures show the oiled and already dried SVD on the left, the original, unaltered AEG on the right: (click to enlarge)

SVD-Oiling-1

SVD-Oiling-2

It`s pretty hard to tell from the pictures, isn`t it? Due to poor lighting conditions, it was very annoying taking comparison shots, but I hope you`ll get an idea. There is a definitive difference in appearance and feel and I am glad that I did it. Many of you like the ruff looks on AKs, a f#*ked up, battle worn appearance that let us think about fierce battles in history. Perhaps you guys would have used sandpaper instead of my conserving procedure, but I know that my SVD will get a worn look in no time.

Number three worked very well and I was quickly able to find the right place for my PSO-1 regarding eye relief and usage with goggles and/or a mask. It is a dream like the placement worked out and after some regulations (incl. removing the cheek piece which I don`t find useful – especially when wearing a protective mask) everything was perfect. I had worries about the eye relief being shitty as with an ACOG or small lensed scope, but a “Russian dream came true”! 🙂

Number four and five were the last and easiest parts and now I am ready to roll out! (click to supersize)

SVD-Wallpaper-FINAL

Leave a comment